Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: [SS AAR] The Kingdom of Denmark - Updated 7/9/07

Default [SS AAR] The Kingdom of Denmark - Updated 7/9/07

Hi I'm beginnning a campaign as the Danes using the latest Stainless Steel Mod and Ultimate AI as well as the latest version of BBB. This is my first attempt at an AAR so any comments and/or suggestions at all will be much appreciated even if it's just to say you enjoyed it!

A History of Denmark

The Reign of King Knud

Following the death of my bastard brother Harald I have taken the throne of Denmark as my own. Though my brother was instrumental in stabilising the Kingdom of Demark and turning the city of Arhus into a prosperous trade centre, his lack of authority and lack of respect amongst the Danish nobility has left our crown weakened. I am determined to establish my authority and that of my heirs over this land. I rule by the will of God and may he grant me success in my endeavours.

Our current situation is precarious. To the south lies the might of the Holy Roman Empire whose mighty armies could overrun us if we drop our guard. To the west lie the rich, fertile lands of England once ripe for the taking now ever more organised against our raiders. This was once our land and I shall one day return to those shores to claim my rightful birthright as King of England. To the north and east are the wild uncivilised lands that it is our duty as ordained by Pope Gregory to pass on the message of God Almighty. This savage but fierce people share a common ancestry despite our years of war and feud. If they can be made to recognise my authority I will forge them into a mighty weapon and have the towns and villages of England tremble once again at our dragonships.