Thread: My +1 year review. Suggestion for game progression to author

Icon3 My +1 year review. Suggestion for game progression to author

Hi,

I started playing the campaign with this mod in 2010, I'm still playing it (just not all the time anymore), trying to conquer almost the complete map.
    Anyways I'd like to write a few bullet points of positive impressions and issues I noticed for new players plus suggestions on how to improve these for Rome 2 for the author.

Positive:
    - just 1 Roman faction
    - AI is way more challenging on strategic and battle maps, makes it challenging and fun (yet not always fun, see below)
    - cool looking units. We all want the cool red uniform looks on legionnaires etc.!
    - no crashes I experienced on other mods

All that creates a great immersion and a challenging game, I still love it after years! This is what my map looks like 2 years later:

Issues:
    - just one but it affects the whole gameplay:
    game progession is really, really slow for a long, long time, resulting in possible frustration.

For at least the first half of the game you cannot be a turtle player. However, the game progress itself is turtling. It's fun fighting battles but will quickly tiring your motivation when you end up fighting 4-5 battles almost each turn!
    Build units, town upgrades, move armies just like in the normal game but bring a cup of coffee (and a few bags of beans too) because the progress on these actions will be extremely slow as you easily spend hours fighting battles and only get 1-2 turns done, the AI will continously send troops to Italy. Sometimes I came home from work, fought one battle and exited the game if there were 2-3 more as it simply consumed too much time. A player also wants fun and reasonable progress on the strategic map.
    This drove me close to a point where I considered giving up on the mod.