Thread: SKINNING - CODE OF CONDUCT

Default SKINNING - CODE OF CONDUCT

I have been a skinner for quite some time but all for my personal use.

I have used other peoples models for the basis of my skins - because I dont model and never will. I have a degree in fine art and all through art school many people used other peoples classical work as parts of their work (model) but to change any aspect of someones previous work made it your own (skinning???). Now I dont necassarily agree with this whole process when it comes to canvas and oil but none the less it exists and none the less, it is a very real part of the skinning community and a necassary evil so it seems. Is it ok to use other peoples work as a template? I have seen great skinners such as Webbird do this and it seems acceptable to release such skins.

So I thought I would ask the community "Whats right? And, Whats Wrong?"

Example: What if I re-skin one of ATGS Spartans? (Who never responds to my PM's) but I have used his model as the basis template of my skin?

What is the TRUE, HONORABLE and ACCEPTABLE code of conduct for release of a skin into the community or a mod? What is the un-sung code?

Maraxus's Avatar Semisalis

Default Re: SKINNING - CODE OF CONDUCT

i try not to sample other peoples works. I do sample anything CA made guilt free but I get a bad feeling reusing other user made stuff. Im a history major in college so I'm fully aware of plagiarism. If i cant get permission I try to cite others' works. Redfox asked to recolor one of ATG's generals for his XGM mod he is doing so I did but i tried to leave ATG's signature and reference that It was changed but based on ATG's works.