Thread: Accurate army size & location?

Default Accurate army size & location?

I studied most of the data on SSHIP's descr.strat file, and I was impressed as to how superior it was over the vanilla SS in terms of accuracy of settlement size. (Further, as someone who is further modifying SSHIP's descr. strat file, it was a useful for me that you went on to explain how you arrived at those numbers.)

Nonetheless, I also wondered whether you guys attempted to be accurate in regard to the size and location of each faction's military as well. And if such an attempt was made, what sources did you look at? Obviously, there is a ready and easily accessible way to determine settlement size numbers via the OpenHistory site, as well as various Wikipedia entries on historical world/European settlement sizes. But it's harder to nail the troop situation with any modicum of accuracy, as that information seems a bit harder to come by at least on my first online foray. (And I was also surprised at the numbers I did see; for instance, I knew medieval military was smaller, but I was shocked that there may have been no more than 50,000 troops defending the Byzantine empire even at the height of the Komnenian resurgence! Perhaps even more incredible, even the Ottomans appear to have had less than 100k men under arms around the time of the fall of Constantinople.) So any direction to which you can point would be very helpful - if you did make an earnest effort here as well!

Default Re: Accurate army size & location?

Thanks for your compliments mate!

I think that in this matter, the gameplay would break too hard if you tried to get actual historical numbers. I mean 50k troops, that would be atleast 20 full stacks! That would mean pure chaos on the campaign map.