Thread: Review(?) about the DLC campaigns in DEI

Default Review(?) about the DLC campaigns in DEI

I'm writing this post not really as criticism or anything, but more as "reviews" (?) and something I would have liked to have when I started playing the DLC campaigns with DEI.

Rise of the Republic

It works, but that seems to be about it. For example, Rome is completely lacking its pre-reform units and start with Triarii, Principes and so on. I understand some dude is working on fleshing this submod out tho. The main team does not consider it a priority, and you know, fair enough.

Less understandable are some other changes: the Iolei, for example, have had their unique buildings, tech tree and garrisons replaced with Celtic ones for some reason. Dunno whats up with that. Several factions also lacks their RotR specific tech tree, with had wonderful descriptions.

My recommendation would be to play this only if you are desperate to kill Samnites and Etrsucans as Rome and are okay with no early units.

Wrath of Sparta

The campaign that was remade into the Macedonian wars, because apparently Rome needs to be in every campaign. At least the team were kind enough to leave a submod to play the vanilla campaign.

With DEI this campaign is a very mixed bag.

On the one hand its actually a challenge to play as Athens now, at least early to mid game. And the reskinned units, with accurate pilos helmets for the Spartans is very welcome, even if you can also find helmets that probably belong in the 4th and 3rd centuries BC. Sparta will now recruit, even on Normal, like 2 full stacks easy. If you played WoS before and found it too easy, you might be tempted to up the difficulty to Hard. I did that, and I wouldn't recommend it unless you know what you're doing.

Sounds great so far, right? Sadly there are a number of blemishes on this campaign as well.